Skip to content
Tags

Ice Christmas Battle

December 10, 2012

Sparks

Ice Christmas Battle

I was lonesome in the world

Hearing music through the windows,

Listening the warm, quiet piano.

My hands were always cold

And I was acting like a rich widow,

Claiming that they are cold not.

I was waving my arms in rhythm

Clifton Mill in Clifton, Ohio is the site of t...

Clifton Mill in Clifton, Ohio is the site of this Christmas display with over 3.5 million lights. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

And was dancing with the tramps;

That was our Christmas battle.

Clumsy I, loved to kick them

To see did they really have  the arms.

In the sleeves they had a quarter.

Angel of the ice appeared in the darknesss,

Didn’t ask him food or a coat,

He started to dance and play with us.

On his face were tears, but sparkless;

Sparks became as wormy moat

As the Wooden Cross of Golgotha’s.

From → art'n'language

3 Comments
  1. I live in Ohio and I have seen the display for many years. It is exciting to read your post and recognize the photo. Your poem is also really good. Hugs, Barbara

  2. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

