Skip to content

Amos the Shepherd and the Prophet

June 15, 2013

Deuteronomy, Chapter 18
18 I will raise them up a Prophet from among their brethren, like unto thee, and will put my words in his mouth; and he shall speak unto them all that I shall command him.
19 And it shall come to pass, that whosoever will not hearken unto my words which he shall speak in my name, I will require it of him.
20 but the prophet, which shall presume to speak a word in my name, which I have not commanded him to speak, or that shall speak in the name of other gods, even that prophet shall die.
21 And if thou say in thin heart, how shall we know the word which the LORD hath not spoken?
22 When the prophet will speak in the name of the LORD, if the thing follow not, nor come to pass, that is the thing which the LORD hath not spoken, but the prophet hath spoken it presumptuously: thou should not be afraid of him.

The prophetic proclamation before the Babylon captivity, to the year 587 BC, dominated punishment
During captivity – solace
After THE Babylon captivity prophets speak about the restoration of slavery and building the Temple at the year 515 BC

Prophets were often in pain and suffer to be the sample how the Israel, the Lord’s people will be destroyed, sent in the slavery (of sin) to the Babylon

Amos was a shepherd from the South. He watched the great and glorious light of wealth and that shined to him very much, but for him it was very easy and bad to see how the king Jeroboam II (786-746) is hiding fights and social injustice and how the lower strata of the people were exposed to oppression.

Amos, Chapter 7
7 Thus he showed me: and, behold, the LORD stood upon a wall made by a plumb line, with a plumb line in his hand.
8 And the LORD said unto me, Amos, what see thou? And I said a plumb line. Then said the LORD, Behold, I will set a plumb line in the midst of my people Israel: I will not again pass by them any more:
9 And the high places of Isaac shall be desolate, and the sanctuaries of Israel shall be laid waste; and I will rise against the house of Jeroboam with the sword

10 Then Amasiah, the priest of Bethel sent to Jeroboam king of Israel, saying, Amos hath conspired against thee in the midst of the house of Israel: the land is not able to bear all his words.
11 for thus Amos said, Jeroboam shall die by the sword, and Israel shall surely be led away captive out of their own land.
12 Also Amasiah said unto Amos, O thou seer, go, flee thee away into the land of Judah, and there eat bread, and prophesy there:
13 But prophesy not again any more at Bethel: for it is the king’s chapel, and it is the king’s court.

The land of Judah was occupied by strange nations who adored false gods and destroyed the land of Israel while he was in the slavery.
But Amos did not speak that king over here is anything better then those people.

14 Then answered Amos, and said to Amasiah, I was no prophet, neither was I a prophet’s son; but I was a shepherd, and a gatherer of wild figs fruit:
15 And the LORD took me as I followed the flock, and the LORD said unto me, Go, prophesy unto my people Israel.
16 Now therefore hear thou the word of the LORD: Thou say Prophesy not against Israel, and drop not thy word against the house of Isaac.
17 Therefore thus said the LORD; Thy wife shall be an harlot in the city, and thy sons and thy daughters shall fall by the sword, and thy land shall be divided by line; and thou shall die in a polluted land: and Israel shall surely go into captivity forth of his land.

Amos criticizes that despises the most basic rules of social justice and love for a brother and religious hypocrisy

Amos, Chapter 5
21 I hate, I despise your feast days, and I will not smell in your solemn assemblies.
22 Though ye offer me burnt offerings and your meat offerings, I will not accept them: neither will I regard the peace offerings of your fat beasts.
23 Take thou away from me the noise of thy songs; for I will not hear the melody of thy viols.

Amos, Chapter 9
7 Are ye not as children of the Ethiopians unto me, O children of Israel said the LORD. Have not I brought up Israel out of the land of Egypt and the Philistines from Captor, and the Syrians from Cir?
8 Behold, the eyes of the Lord GOD are upon the sinful kingdom, and I will destroy it from off the face of the earth; saving that I will not utterly destroy the house of Jacob, said the LORD.
9 for, lo, I will command, and I will sift the house of Israel among all nations, like as corn is sifted in a sieve, yet shall not the least grain fall upon the earth.
10 All the sinners of my people shall die by the sword, which say, the evil shall not overtake nor prevent us.

But the Lord will provide his justice, says Amos
Amos, Chapter 9
13 Behold, the days come, said the LORD, that the plowman shall overtake the reaper, and the trader of grapes him that sow seed; and the mountains shall drop sweet wine, and all the hills shall melt.
14 And I will bring again the captivity of my people of Israel, and they shall build the waste cities, and inhabit them; and they shall plant vineyards, and drink the wine thereof; they shall also make gardens, and eat the fruit of them.
15 And I will plant them upon their land, and they shall no more be pulled up out of their land which I have given them, said the LORD thy God.
June 15, 2013 Saturday, 11:41 AM

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

